My first Mother’s Day

Mother'sDay2013

My very first Mother’s Day is now in the history books. It is still hard to believe I’m a mother to such a beautiful and precious baby. I prayed for her so long that sometimes it is overwhelming to know God actually granted my prayer. She lights up my world. She is at the center of everything I do. I’m so blessed. She and Anthony are more than I deserve.

Leading up to mother’s day, I daydreamed of the different gifts I would receive or what Anthony would do to make the day special. Once Mother’s Day arrived, we were jammed packed with activities; from worship service, then brunch with his parents, followed by a visit with family, trek to the grocery store before heading home to prepare for Monday. At the end of the day, I realized all I really wanted was a day of rest and relaxation.

So, I’m asking forgiveness now of my mom and pastor. I won’t be travelling to Mississippi, brunching with in-laws or going to church. You will find me on a beach hopefully or on my couch. Anthony, a nice gift, card and taking care of Mary-Isabella for the day will suffice.

Mother’s Day = Me Day. I say that now. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

